History of the Beautiful Town The Jennifer Jones Team Calls Home, Baldwin!
1905 Baldwin, Ontario, Canada
Baldwin is located south of Sutton and just east of Keswick. The hamlet emerged in the early 1800s thanks to a prosperous mill that operated on the banks of the Black River named Baldwin Grist Mill. The first mill was built in the early 1800’s, however both it and its replacement burned down. The third mill was relocated from Keswick piece by piece between 1879-1883 by its owner William Heise. The Baldwin Grist Mill ceased operations in 1968 but is still intact and a neighbourhood landmark.
Baldwin reached its zenith in the late 1800s when it was a stop on the Lake Simcoe Junction Railway. Baldwin’s stop was on the west side of what is now Highway 48, and continued north in a straight line. The flagstop at Baldwin Road was a rather picturesque setting with a medium sized wooden trestle over Black River just downstream from "Devil's Elbow." Apparently the stop had a little waiting room which survived into the early 1950s and then disappeared. Many of the area’s original wood and cobblestone structures are still standing.
Looking south from the Baldwin Road. The deck of the trestle is in the mid-background. The Baldwin flagstop or platform would likely have been on the north side of the road. 1981.
Trestle over the Black River with the rails still in place. Just south of Baldwin Road. 1981
Written by Michelle Francis-Turcott (email@example.com)